Lucky Day Field Trips

It’s your lucky day – these Field Trips still have open spaces!

The trips below have 3+ open spaces. The list will be updated weekly on Fridays.

Several more of our Field Trips have 1-2 open spaces in addition to this list. View them on the full registration site.

Click on the Field Trip title below to view trip details and to register.

2. Beginning Birding 101 Saturday, April 24 Walworth Co. –  Burlington
5-A. Catching the Peak: Migratory Bird Banding Saturday, May 01 Waupaca Co. – Waupaca
5-B. Catching the Peak: Migratory Bird Banding Saturday, May 08 Waupaca Co. – Waupaca
5-D. Catching the Peak: Migratory Bird Banding Saturday, May 22 Waupaca Co. – Waupaca
6. Introduction to Birding and eBird Saturday, May 01 Dane Co. – Monona
7. Spring Migration Songbird Monitoring Saturday, May 01 St. Croix Co. – Hudson
9. Beginning Birding for Families Sunday, May 02 Dane Co. – Monona
10. Restoring Streams for Trout Tuesday, May 04 Dane Co. –  Paoli
15. From Sedge to Forest: West Salem School Forest Saturday, May 08 Monroe Co. –  Sparta
20. Birding Holmboe Conifer Forest SNA Thursday, May 13 Oneida Co. –  Rhinelander
23-B. Stumphenge: Conservation & Biodiversity on a Retired Farm Thursday, July 08 Sauk Co. – Leland
25-A. Trout Fishing For Beginners: SPIN-FISHING Saturday, May 15 Vernon Co. – La Farge
26. Nature Journaling: Listening to the Language of Nature Saturday, May 15 Vilas Co. – Manitowish Waters
27. Paddle & Hike Silverwood Park Saturday, May 15 Dane Co. – Edgerton
30. Family Saunter: Observing the Natural World Sunday, May 16 Dane Co. – Madison
32. Building A More Bird-Friendly Community Tuesday, May 18 Ozaukee Co. – Port Washington
37-B. Waterloo Wildlife Area: Kayak to the Quartzite Saturday, October 02 Jefferson Co. – Waterloo
40-A. Golden-winged Warbler Conservation Saturday, May 29 Oneida Co. – Lake Tomahawk
40-B. Golden-winged Warbler Conservation Saturday, June 05 Oneida Co. – Lake Tomahawk
40-C. Golden-winged Warbler Conservation Saturday, June 12 Oneida Co. – Lake Tomahawk
44. Fish Passage along the Milwaukee River Friday, June 04 Ozaukee Co. – Thiensville
47-A. Woodland Warblers of Door County Saturday, June 05 Door Co. – Fish Creek
47-B. Woodland Warblers of Door County Sunday, June 06 Door Co. – Fish Creek
49-A. Beginning Birder Basics Saturday, June 05 Winnebago Co. – Menasha
49-B. Beginning Birder Basics Saturday, June 19 Winnebago Co. – Menasha
50-B. Grasslands of Southwestern Wisconsin Sunday, June 06 Iowa Co. – Barneveld
52-B. Urban Woodworking: A Tree to Table Story Saturday, September 11 Dane Co. – Oregon
54. Nature Writing Workshop Saturday, June 05 Dane Co. – Madison
58-B. Tree Climbing: A View from the Top Saturday, August 28 Ozaukee Co. – Newburg
60. Birding, Boating & Breweries Along the Milwaukee River Friday, June 11 Ozaukee Co. –  Fredonia
63-B. Ice Age Trail: Summit Moraine Segment Saturday, July 24 Langlade Co. – Antigo
64-B. Searching for Dwarf Lake Iris on Washington Island Saturday, June 19 Door Co. –  Washington Island
66. Milwaukee River Greenway: Celebrating 15 Years Saturday, June 12 Milwaukee Co. – Milwaukee
71. Beginning Rock Climbing: Devil’s Lake Friday, June 18 Sauk Co. – Baraboo
75. Bluebirds & Other Cavity Nesters Saturday, June 19 Dane Co. – Madison
86-B. Monarchs & Milkweed: An Essential Relationship Saturday, July 24 Outagamie Co. – New London
87-A. Canoe the Upper Waupaca Chain O’Lakes Tuesday, July 13 Waupaca Co. – Waupaca
87-B. Canoe the Upper Waupaca Chain O’Lakes Tuesday, August 10 Waupaca Co. – Waupaca
89-A. All-Natural Treatment at a Modern Wastewater Plant Wednesday, July 14 Wood Co. –  Marshfield
89-B. All-Natural Treatment at a Modern Wastewater Plant Wednesday, July 21 Wood Co. –  Marshfield
90. Miltrim Farms: Precision Agriculture & Conservation Solutions Thursday, July 15 Marathon Co. –  Athens
98. Crayfish Capers Saturday, July 24 Ozaukee Co. – Newburg
100. Urban Nature Photography Friday, July 30 Milwaukee Co. – Milwaukee
101. Wildflower Nature Photography Saturday, July 31 Waukesha Co. – Waukesha
104-A. Aquatic Field Studies Saturday, August 07 Dane Co. – Monona
104-B. Aquatic Field Studies Saturday, August 21 Dane Co. – Monona
107. Wisconsin School Forest Tour: Central Wisconsin Friday, August 13 Lincoln Co. –  Merrill
109. Whitetail Deer Hunting Skills Saturday, August 14 Dodge Co. – Mayville
111-B. Lake Geneva Ziplines & Adventures Saturday, August 14 Walworth Co. – Lake Geneva
111-C. Lake Geneva Ziplines & Adventures Saturday, August 14 Walworth Co. – Lake Geneva
114-A. Old-Growth Hike: Frog Lake and Pines SNA Monday, August 16 Iron Co. – Manitowish
114-B. Old-Growth Hike: Frog Lake and Pines SNA Monday, August 16 Iron Co. – Manitowish
115. Aquatic Botany 101 from a Kayaking Perspective Wednesday, August 18 Marathon Co. –  Hatley
116. Beginning Rock Climbing: Governor Dodge Friday, August 20 Iowa Co. – Dodgeville
120-A. Habitat Restoration on Private Lands Tuesday, August 24 Columbia Co. –  Rio
120-B. Habitat Restoration on Private Lands Tuesday, August 24 Columbia Co. –  Rio
121-A. Sugar River: Invasive Plant ID Thursday, August 26 Dane Co. –  Belleville
121-B. Sugar River: Invasive Plant ID Thursday, September 02 Dane Co. –  Belleville
126. Geology and Soils of Tyler Forks Community Forest Sunday, August 29 Ashland Co. – Mellen
131. Creating a Nature Journal Saturday, September 11 Dane Co. – Mount Horeb
132. Small Game Hunting Skills Saturday, September 11 Sauk Co. – Baraboo
133-A. Orienteering for Beginners Saturday, September 11 Dane Co. – Monona
133-B. Orienteering for Beginners Saturday, September 25 Dane Co. – Monona
134-A. Tagging Monarch Butterflies at Goose Pond Sanctuary Tuesday, September 14 Columbia Co. – Arlington
135. Oak Savanna Restoration: Donald Park Thursday, September 16 Dane Co. – Mt Vernon
148. Primitive Fire Making Extravaganza Saturday, October 09 Vilas Co. – Manitowish Waters
150-B. Northern Saw-whet Owls: Carpenter Nature Center Thursday, October 28 St. Croix Co. – Hudson
Christine Tanzer

Christine Tanzer

Director of Field Trip Program

(608) 409-3123
FieldTrips@WisConservation.org

Christine coordinates the many facets of the Foundation’s vibrant Field Trip Program. Passionate about showcasing Wisconsin’s amazing natural treasures, she has organized well over 2,000 Field Trips since joining NRF in 1997.